Each year, Midlas participates in an audit to make sure that we are delivering a quality service to people with disabilities. Midlas must meet the six National Standards for Disability Services (NSDS). These Standards are developed by the Australian Government in consultation with people with disabilities, families and parents, carers and advocates.

The Standards focus on the rights and outcomes for people with disabilities.

The Standards are:

Standard 1: Rights.

This standard means that you have the right to be treated fairly when you use a disability service.

This means that your provider should:

  • Assist you to make your own decisions and have control of your life. This may include involving your family or carer if you need their support.
  • Treat you with dignity and respect.
  • Know that the information you provide is kept private and safe.

Standard 2: Participation and Inclusion.

This standard means that you are able to participate in your community and feel included when you engage with disability services.

This means that your provider should:

  • Work together with you to help make connections with your family, friends and community.
  • Work with other organisations if needed.
  • Respects your cultural background.

Standard 3: Individual Outcomes

This standards means that your service supports you to make choices.

This means that your provider should:

  • Provide you with choices about service delivery.
  • Helps you determine your goals and what strategies and assistance is needed to reach them.
  • Work with other organisations if it is needed.
  • Be responsive to diversity including disability, age, gender, culture, heritage etc.

Standard 4: Feedback and Complaints

This standard means that you are able to give feedback on the services you are receiving.

This means your provider should:

  • Inform you how you can make a complaint or provide feedback.
  • Have a variety of methods with how you can lodge a complaint/provide feedback.
  • Make you feel that it is okay to make a complaint and you should not feel bad about speaking up.
  • Regularly ask for your feedback on their service and encourage you to provide ideas/suggestions.

Standard 5: Service Access

This standard means that the service you are accessing is fair.

This means your provider should:

  • Ensure that you understand what services they offer
  • Ensure that you have fair and equal access to the service
  • Ensure you are supported with suitable alternatives if you are unable to access a service

Standard 6: Service Management

This standard means that the service is managed effectively and efficiently.

This means that your provider should:

  • Be flexible to your individual strengths and needs
  • Provide you with services and supports that are effective, regularly reviewed and based on best practice
  • Use person-centred practice including the active involvement of people with disability and their networks

If you would like some assistance in understanding your rights or to advocate with agencies who you feel are not adhering to the National Standards for Disability Services please call Midlas on 9250 2123 to book an appointment with a Disability Advocate.

Midlas Mission: We partner with individuals and organisations to promote independence, strength and wellbeing in our community through support, advocacy and education.