Midlas Board of Management


Chairperson – Simon Kimber

Simon has a M.B.A. and over 20 years experience in business operations, marketing and general management in the private sector. This is Simon’s first position in a non- for –profit sector and he brings to the team an approach based on service flexibility and exceeding customer requirements. Simon’s interests include international political economy, geopolitical risk, resource and energy sustainability, business innovation, policy and governance.


Vice Chairperson – Merissa Van Der Linden

Merissa has passion for supporting people who are vulnerable or at risk, and improving opportunities for all people to enjoy their rights.  Merissa has over 20 years experience in the disability sector having held positions in government, and for-purpose agencies.  She has held senior leadership positions in large agencies, leading quality assurance and continuous improvement, management of safety and risk, and building the capability of teams to deliver meaningful outcomes.  Merissa holds qualifications in Fine Arts, Psychology and a Masters in Human Rights.


Treasurer – Deepak Sharma

Deepak has 20 years of experience working in  Infrastructure Advisory and Project Finance across Australia, Middle East and India. He has worked with credit rating agencies, financial institutions and a corporate bank prior to his current role in the Strategic Performance group at Water Corporation. He is passionate in working for community and is a management committee member of Indian Society of Western Australia and HSS. Deepak holds a Master’s in Business Economics and a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering.


Secretary – Jane Davies

Jane is a marketing and commercial leader with over 25 years’ experience in the commercial, not-for-profit and government sectors. Jane also spent many years working with Aboriginal communities, families and individuals, assisting them to develop their business aspirations. With an M.B.A., Bachelor Degree in Marketing and a Post Grad Dip in Project Management, Jane has highly-developed analytical and research skills combined with the creative vision to drive business growth initiatives.


Board Member – Joseph Hoe

Joseph is a Senior Financial Adviser with Wealthwise, and holds a Bachelor of Commerce & a Master of Taxation. He is a member of CPA (Australia), SMSF Specialist from the SMSF Association and a Certified Financial Planner. In recognition of his work  Joseph was the 2014 WA winner of the FPA’s Future2 Community Service Award, winner of the WA  AFA’s excellence in education award 2015, and Money Management National Financial Planner of the Year 2016. In 2020, he was also recognised as one of the 50 most influential Financial Advisers in Australia in the prestigious FS Power50 list.    


Board Member – Reg Yarran

Reg is an experienced Advisor with a demonstrated history of working in the environmental services industry. Skilled in Non-profit Organisations, Business Planning, Coaching, Government, and Event Management. Strong professional with a Masters in Management focused in Non-Profit/Public/Organisational Management and human resources from University of Technology Sydney.